Saturday, January 21, 2017

Garden of Life Sport Organic Plant-Based Protein Powder Review

Garden of Life recently came out with a new sport blend of protein powder. It’s called Garden of Life Sport Organic Plant-Based Protein, and it’s a high-caliber concoction that rivals comparable products like Vega Sport Performance and PlantFusion Complete Plant Protein.


What makes Garden of Life Sport Organic Plant-Based Protein a “sport” protein powder is that it contains vital ingredients essential for athletic recovery (namely, branch chain amino acids [BCAAs,] l-glutamine, and probiotics, to name a few.) And not only is it soy-free, gluten-free, ketogenic and paleo-friendly, this athlete-centric vegan protein powder is also infused with Garden of Life’s “Organic Muscle Recovery Blend.”
Garden of Life Sport Organic Plant Based Protein Review



So to get on with the review of Garden of Life Sport Organic Plant-Based Protein, first let’s take a close look at the product’s nutritional profile.


Nutritional Review of Garden of Life Sport Organic Plant-Based Protein

The first point I'd like to make in review of Garden of Life Sport Organic Plant-based Protein powder is that it's certified USDA organic, Non-GMO Project verified, NSF Certified for Sport, änd contains no added sugars. In fact, there is just 1 gram of sugar per serving, so it's pretty keto-friendly if you're into that sort of thing.

Garden of Life Sport Protein Powder Review


While most vegan protein powders contain brown rice protein, hemp protein, soy protein, etc., this product is a little different. Garden of Life Sport Organic Plant-based Protein contains a unique protein blend comprised of:


  • Organic Pea Protein
  • Organic Garbanzo Bean Protein
  • Organic Sprouted Navy Bean Protein
  • Organic Sprouted Lentil Bean Protein
  • Organic Cranberry Seed Protein


This sport protein powder is also equipped with an antioxidant blend of organic turmeric, organic tart cherries, organic goji berries, organic apples and organic blueberries, which is designed to promote faster recovery.


For immunity support, Garden of Life Sport Organic Plant-based Protein provides 2 Billion CFU of probiotics per serving (bifidobacterium lactis, to be specific.) And perhaps most important for athletic recovery after a hard workout is the 30 grams of complete protein per serving with 5.5 grams of BCAAs and 5 grams l-glutamine and glutamic acid.

Garden of Life Organic Sport Protein Powder Review
I  love how Garden of Life indicates both Essential Amino Acids (EAAs)
as well as Branch Chain Amino Acids (BCAAs) on the label!

Lastly, Garden of Life stamps this vegan protein powder as "certified clean," which essential means that protein and amino acids blend is clean and free of any banned substances. In short, this is one of the most comprehensive nutritional profiles I've reviewed in a plant-based sport protein powdered.

Flavor Review of Garden of Life Sport Organic Plant-Based Protein

Garden of Life Sport Organic Plant-based Protein powder comes in two flavors: Vanilla and Chocolate. This review is only for the Vanilla flavor, as I have yet to try the Chocolate. Once I do, I will update this post.


The best way I can describe the flavor of Garden of Life Sport Organic Plant-based Protein vanilla is “mellow.” Although the product does contain organic stevia leaf extract, the sweetness is minimal.


On the sweetness scale, I would rate this product a 2/10.


The vanilla flavoring is very tame, as the protein powder tastes more like a transparent “natural” blend intended to not overpower a smoothie. For some consumers, this is a great thing, because there are far too many vegan protein powders that are overly sweetened to point of disgust. But if your seeking a plant-based sport protein powder that's on the sweet side, this may not fit the bill.


In the case of reviewing Garden of Life Sport Organic Plant-based Protein, I find the flavor to be very well balanced. The protein powder itself is very fine and concentrated, so it mixes well in smoothies and other easy applications. Given its mellow taste, I am very curious as to what the chocolate flavor will be like.
  

Thursday, December 29, 2016

PlantFusion Complete Plant Protein Powder Review

There’s good reason why PlantFusion protein powder is so positively reviewed throughout the interwebs. It’s a delicious, high-performance vegan protein powder that’s relatively affordable compared to its top competitors (i.e. Vega Performance Protein and MRM Veggie Elite.)

PlantFusion Complete Plant Protein Powder Review
PlantFusion Complete Plant Protein Vanilla Bean

PlantFusion protein powder is a complete protein that contains a rich amino acid profile (including BCAA’s) and L-Glutamine. These vital components are essential for individuals seeking plant-based protein supplement to help build muscle and optimize athletic recovery.

Unlike some protein powders that suggest large servings sizes (huge scoops and only 15 servings per container,) PlantFusion Complete Plant Protein offers a modest one scoop serving that lasts 30 servings. Each scoop contains 21 grams of highly-concentrated, nutrient-dense protein with 4500mg of BCAAs. And with 3350mg of Glutamine, it's a solid vegan protein powder for muscle recovery and overall energy.

Nutritional Review of PlantFusion Protein Powder

Soy, rice, and gluten-free, PlantFusion protein powder is a USDA certified organic vegan protein powder that’s produced using “open-book” processes, so there’s no mysterious manufacturing involved.

PlantFusion Protein Powder Review

One scoop has 120 calories. Aside from the 21 grams of protein, it contains 2 grams of fat and 4 grams of grams of carbohydrates. The carbs come from sugar, so if you’re on the ketogenic diet (and perhaps paleo diet,) this might not be the best vegan protein powder for you.

The protein source in PlantFusion Complete Protein Powder include:

  • pea protein
  • artichoke protein
  • sprouted amaranth protein
  • quinoa protein

The official web page of PlantFusion Complete Protein Powder provides a nice outline of the origin, benefits, and nutritional value of each of these proteins. To learn more, visit the page here.


PlantFusion also contains a proprietary blend of enzymes to ensure that everyone, even individuals with sensitive stomachs, are able to digest protein powder with ease.

Flavor Review of PlantFusion Vanilla Protein Powder

According to PlantFusion "When we started PlantFusion we had one goal in mind… We wanted to make a delicious milkshake out of plants."

In my opinion: they have successfully accomplished that goal with PlantFusion Vanilla protein powder.

I am not the only one who agrees that this vegan protein powder blend is one of the best tasting on the market. Just take a look at some of the reviews of PlantFusion Complete Protein on Amazon.

Similar to other high-quality blends, PlantFusion is very concentrated. In other words, the powder is like dust, making its blendability incredible. Whether you’re adding it to a smoothie or just want to stir some of the product in milk or water, the protein powder blends with great ease.

PlantFusion Vanilla Protein Powder has a very well balanced flavor profile that is semi-sweet, extremely smooth, and absolutely delicious. It’s almost hard to believe that it doesn’t contain dairy, because it is indeed vanilla milkshake made from plants.

On the sweetness scale, I would rate this product a 5/10.

Lastly, PlantFusion is not chalky or sticky like some vegan protein powders reviewed on this site. It dissolves with ease and makes for one of the best plant-based protein powders currently available.

To purchase this product, head on over to Amazon.com where you can choose from five different flavors, each with varying nutritional and flavor profiles.

Sunday, October 16, 2016

MRM Veggie Elite Protein Review

MRM Veggie Elite Protein Powder Review

Finally, the opportunity has risen to review MRM Veggie Elite protein powder. I've had this product on my review queue for several months. But just recently, I was prompted to make it happen while listening to a podcast about the ketogenic diet with Dr. Dominic D'Agostino and Tim Ferriss.

While talking about keto-veganism, Dr. D'Agostino's mentioned MRM Veggie Elite along with a simple. high-fat smoothie recipe. As an athlete experimenting with a high-fat/ketogenic diet (while keeping it mostly plant-based,) this sign was the kick in the ass I needed to review MRM Veggie Elite protein powder. At about $21 for the entire purchase (that's under $10 per pound of high-grade protein,) it was practically a steal.

In addition to being highly affordable, MRM Veggie Elite is a vegan protein powder with branch chain amino acids (BCAAs.) If you're an athlete or like to pump iron, then you'll be excited to know that this is one of the few plant-based protein powders that contains the amino acids Leucine, Isoleucine, and Valine. These BCAAs are key building blocks to building and sustaining muscle mass.

MRM Veggie Elite was also about half the price of comparable products. Beyond it being primed for athletes with BCAAs and high-concentrate plant protein, it's a great option for all walks of life. In short, MRM Veggie Elite is an abundant product at a good value. Below I delve into the nutritional profile and tasting review MRM Veggie Elite Vanilla Bean.

Nutritional Review of MRM Veggie Elite Protein Review

The protein profile of MRM Veggie Elite is fairly simple, comprising of pea and brown rice protein concentrates. A modest 32 gram scoop serving boasts 24 grams of protein, so a little bit goes a long way. This choice combination of plant-based proteins, along with digestive enzymes, results in a blend that offers all the essential amino acids necessary to meet the protein demands active individuals.
MRM Veggie Elite is the first patent-pending formula to hold its own against whey protein in a clinical study. As stated on the product label:

MRM Veggie Elite adjusts grams of protein per serving by using True Digestibility of individual proteins to create a clean, plant-based formula to rival whey, then adds Digest-ALL® enzyme blend to further aid digestion and assimilation of plant proteins. 

MRM Veggie Elite Review

MRM Veggie Elite is a complete protein source for individuals with specific body composition goals, those seeking to build or maintain lean muscle mass, active individuals, or simply those who want to add a protein to their diet.

Last in the review of MRM Veggie Elite's nutritional profile are the ingredients that make the product taste good. This includes natural vanilla bean flavor and TreLEAFia, a natural and non-GMO sweetener blend comprised of stevia leaf extract, trehalose, and monk fruit extract. For the complete nutritional profile of MRM Veggie Elite Vanilla Bean, see the figure below.

MRM Veggie Elite Protein Reviews

Flavor Review of MRM Veggie Elite Vanilla Bean Protein

Now that we know this product hosts an incredible nutritional profile and complete protein formula, it's time to review the taste of MRM Veggie Elite Vanilla Bean. Like all reviews I conduct, I first taste the protein powder in it's simplest form by mixing it with an unflavored almond milk.
MRM Veggie Elite Vanilla Bean Review

Because MRM Veggie Elite is so refined and highly-concentrated, the blend mixes easily into the milk with little clumping. There's also no grittiness to the blend, as the texture and mouthfeel is very smooth. 

The initial taste was pleasing and the level of sweetness was perfect - not too sweet but not too bland. On the 0-10 sweetness scale, I would review MRM Veggie Elite Vanilla Bean at a 6. As fan of vanilla flavored protein powders, the taste of this product was delightful. It offered those nice subtle notes of vanilla bean, graham cracker, and brazil nuts. I will admit that there's a slight chalky flavor, but it's hardly detectable when blended in a smoothie.

The TreLEAFia formula is on-point, as the there's no overwhelming, palette-destroying Stevia flavoring that makes the product taste artificial. It's relatively natural tasting, and proved to be one of my favorite vegan protein powders for all types of applications (especially those creamy, high-fat smoothies with avocados, coconut milk, and greens.)

Saturday, August 13, 2016

Vega Protein Smoothie Viva Vanilla Review

Vega Protein Smoothie Vanilla Review

Vega Protein Smoothie Vanilla Review
If you're looking for a simple, low-calorie, vegan protein powder supplement, Vega Protein Smoothie is a great option. One small scoop packs 15 grams of plant-based protein and only 80 calories, offering a good bang per each dose (and your dollar.) With 12 scoops in a standard 9.3oz pouch (and an average online cost of about $12-14 per pouch,) you're getting a quality vegan protein powder at just over $1 per serving.

But simplicity and affordability aren't the only defining qualities that make Vega Protein Smoothie an awesome choice among plant-based protein powders. It also tastes great. In fact, compared to other Vega protein powders I've reviewed, I found Vega Protein Smoothie Viva Vanilla to be one of the best-tasting (in my opinion.) Next to Vega Sport Performance protein, a more advanced blend with BCAAs and higher protein, Vega Protein Smoothie provides a lighter alternative for active lifestyles.

Before we get to the flavor review of  Vega Protein Smoothie Viva Vanilla, let's first check-in with the product's nutritional information and ingredients to see what we're working with.

Nutritional Review of Vega Protein Smoothie Viva Vanilla

The nutritional profile of Vega Protein Smoothie is basic in the most beautiful way. With only 4 grams of carbs (2 grams of sugar) and no fat, almost all of the product's calories are in the protein. 
Nutritional Review of Vega Protein Smoothie Viva Vanilla
The multisource Vega Protein blend contains pea protein, saviseed protein, hemp seed protein, and sprouted whole grain brown rice protein. Non-GMO, and 100% free of dairy, gluten, soy, artificial flavors and colors, Vega Protein Smoothie is one of cleanest plant-based proteins with the ingredients list pronounceable and recognizable by most. 

Ingredients Vega Protein Smoothie Vanilla Review

The Protein Smoothie blend is also equipped with Vega's Green Blend, which offers the equivalent of two servings of veggies including kale, broccoli and spinach. While this blend is found in other Vega products I've reviewed (such as Vega Protein & Greens Vanilla,) the taste of Vega Protein Smoothie is far superior.

Flavor Review of Vega Protein Smoothie Viva Vanilla

Vega Protein Smoothie Viva Vanilla ReviewGetting into the flavor review of Vega Protein Smoothie Viva Vanilla, I'll get right to the point. This blend tastes great. Unlike Vega Protein & Greens Vanilla which tastes a little too artificial on the sweetness scale (perhaps as a means to cover-up the earthy taste from the green blend,) Viva Vanilla flavor of Vega Protein Smoothie is mildly sweet and very well balanced. The stevia is still present, but not as intense as other Vega protein powders.

Viva Vanilla has a smooth and nutty vanilla bean flavor that pairs well with almost any combination. There is no chalky or pastiness to the protein powder, and it blends optimally in smoothies and protein shakes. The powder also stirs well into liquids, making it a great option for on-the-go supplementation. After a thorough review, I highly recommend Vega Protein Smoothie Viva Vanilla as one of my top rated vegan protein powder reviews.


To see more reviews of Vega Protein Smoothie Viva Vanilla, or to buy the product online, hop on over to Amazon.com.

Or get the official scoop of Vega Protein Smoothie at MyVega.com.

Saturday, June 25, 2016

Garden of Life RAW Protein Powder Review

Garden of Life RAW Protein Powder Review
"Beyond Organic Protein Formula"
Image Credit: Amazon.com 

Garden of Life RAW Protein Powder Review

As one of the flagship products of this brand, Garden of Life RAW Protein is perhaps the most popular raw vegan protein powder found on the shelves of most health food stores.

With Garden of Life's live probiotics and enzymes blends and organic sprouted protein, this product supports optimal digestive health and function, which is nice addition for athletic recovery and general supplementation.

Overall, Garden of Life RAW Protein powder is universal for all walks of life. Whether for athletic recovery or a weight loss supplement, this is a highly versatile raw vegan protein powder.

In my Garden of Life RAW Protein review, I had the distinct, first-world privilege to taste all four flavors. But before getting into the flavor review of this vegan protein powder, take a quick peek at the full ingredients list.

Nutritional Review of Garden of Life Raw Protein

Click the image to zoom in
In addition to the probiotics and enzymes, Garden of Life RAW Protein contains 17 grams of plant-based protein and a nice boost of fat soluble vitamins (including a good dose of Vitamin D, A, E, and K from this brand's  Vitamin Code® line.) The protein blend is actually a "RAW Sprout Blend" and it hosts an impressive roster of sprouted plants.

And they are: (organic) sprouted brown rice protein, amaranth sprout, quinoa sprout, millet sprout, buckwheat sprout, garbanzo sprout, lentil sprout, adzuki bean sprout, flax seed sprout, sunflower seed sprout, pumpkin seed sprout, chia seed sprout, sesame seed sprout. Nice!

To cap-off the nutritional review of Garden of Life RAW Protein, the product also includes a few unique vitamins and nutrients (apart of the Vitamin Code® Code Factors™ blend) including glutathione and Beta-glucans (a couple of immunity-boosting badasses.)

Now for the fun part: the flavor review of the four flavors that make up Garden of Life RAW Protein. Let's get into it!


Flavor Review of Garden of Life RAW Protein Powder

Garden of Life RAW Protein Unflavored ReviewThe four flavors in the roster of Garden of Life RAW Protein powder include: Unflavored, Chocolate, Vanilla, and Vanilla Spiced Chai. From an overall perspective in reviewing each flavor, I did find there to be a subtle layer of sooty chalkiness to the mix (when combined with just milk,) but this was practically unnoticeable after blending the each protein powder into a smoothie. Nonetheless, each flavor is well-balanced in terms of sweetness and texture, and the overall flavor review of Garden of Life RAW Protein was a positive experience. 


Unflavored Flavor Review (Sweetness Scale 0/10)

Starting with flavor that has no flavor, this choice hit home in the category of natural-tasting protein powders in that its very transparent and versatile for just about any application, ranging from oatmeal to smoothies. On its own with just milk, the unflavored option of Garden of Life RAW Protein was a bit chalky, so I do suggest blending it with something. It stealthy presence with practically unnoticeable in my green smoothie. If you're looking for a vegan protein powder for weight loss, this is good option in that it nutritionally dense, low in calories, and isn't sweet (so it won't trigger your tastebuds into wanting more.)
Garden of Life RAW Protein Chocolate Review


Chocolate Flavor Review (Sweetness Scale 4/10)

Because I am picky about about my chocolate-flavored vegan protein powders, I embraced this option of Garden of Life RAW Protein with a food critic's mindset. The experience and outcome was overall pleasing (and slight nostalgic.) This flavor reminded me of chocolate Ovaltine, in that it had a rich, milk chocolate taste that was quite delightful. Great on its own with just milk, this flavor is also a nice addition to oatmeal and decadent smoothies (i.e. real coconut milk, banana, etc.) This chocolate flavor of Garden of Life RAW Protein is one of the best in its class.
Garden of Life RAW Protein Vanilla Review


Vanilla Flavor Review (Sweetness Scale 5/10)

If you're fan of vanilla-flavored vegan protein powders, then you also can't go wrong with Garden of Life RAW protein vanilla. It has a distinct vanilla bean flavor that tastes great and can be added to a number of applications, especially smoothies. It's mildly sweet and has no stevia aftertaste like other vanilla-flavored options out there. Very pleased in reviewing this product, I put this choice on my list of recommendable vanilla flavored protein powders.

Garden of Life RAW Protein Vanilla Chai Review

Vanilla Chai Flavor Review (Sweetness Scale 5/10)

Saving the best and most unique for last, the vanilla chai flavor of Garden of Life RAW protein is a superb choice if you want some chai-infusion in your vegan protein powder. The company did us chai-lovers a solid with this product, as the taste is phenomenal. It's moderately sweet with a great balance of chai spice and vanilla bean, making it a delicious combination for the right application. It's certainly not as transparent and universally-applicable as some of the other options, so make sure you really like the chai before you buy. But if you do, you're in for a treat.




Friday, June 24, 2016

Amazing Grass Protein Superfood Review

Amazing Grass Protein Superfood Review

Amazing Grass Protein Superfood Review
Image Credit: Amazon.com

Popularized by its daily greens superfood powder, Amazing Grass has just released an all-in-one, plant-based protein nutrition shake, and in three different flavors. Packed with 2 full servings of fruits and vegetables (rich with 7 different alkalizing greens,) 20 grams of plant-based protein, and no added sugar, Amazing Grass Protein Superfood is an unquestionably-solid vegan protein powder that provides it all. 

As stated on the product's official description, Amazing Grass Protein Superfood promotes lean muscle, satisfies hunger, nourishing energy, and aids digestion. In addition to being 100% organic, non-GMO, and gluten free, Amazing Grass Protein Superfood is also a paleo vegan protein powder in that it's (arguably) grain-free.

In conducting my Amazing Grass Protein Superfood review, I had the opportunity to try all three flavors. But before getting into the flavor review of this vegan protein powder, let's take a quick look at the nutritional facts of this product.

Nutritional Facts of Amazing Grass Protein Superfood

Amazing Grass Protein Superfood Nutritional Review
This is the official nutritional
facts label of the the Chocolate
Peanut Butter flavor. The other
flavors have slightly different
nutritional profiles.
Image credit: Amazon.com
In the nutritional review of Amazing Grass Protein Superfood, the plant-based protein blend of this product contains: organic pea, hemp, chia, and quinoa. For some (particularly the paleo folks out there,) the quinoa might raise your eyebrows given that Amazing Grass claims this vegan protein powder to be grain-free. However, quinoa is debatably a seed

Nonetheless, quinoa doesn't always agree with those who eat a grain-free diet, and many individuals in the paleo community will argue against the consumption of quinoa. 

The green food blend in Amazing Grass Protein Superfood (which is also in other products from Amazing Grass) is dense with organic wheat grass, alfalfa, barley grass, spinach, spirulina, chlorella, and broccoli. Further helping to promote optimal recovery, this vegan protein supplement also has organic acai, banana, beet, goji, pineapple, sweet potato, raspberry, and rose hips.

Compared to other fruit and vegetable infused vegan protein powders, Amazing Grass Protein Superfood offers one of the most complete ingredient blends from a nutritional standpoint. All varieties are flavored with organic Madagascar vanilla, and the Original is stevia-free. 

Having poked around on other sites featuring this product, Amazing Grass Protein Superfood has already earned a healthy dose of rave reviews for its superb taste and comprehensive nutritional profile. If you're interested in reading my opinion of this product's taste, check out my flavor review of Amazing Grass Protein Superfood below.


Flavor Review of Amazing Grass Protein Superfood

After all of the vegan protein powder reviews I've published on this website, Amazing Grass Protein Superfood is the only product to offer a peanut butter flavor (and with real peanuts!) If that doesn't get you excited, then you'll be pleased to know that roster of Amazing Grass Protein Superfood offers three different options: Original, Vanilla, and of course, Chocolate Peanut Butter

Amazing Grass Protein Superfood Reviews
Image Credit: Amazon.com
With all flavors, you can tell there are a lot of plants in each serving of Amazing Grass Superfood Protein, however each flavor is very well-balanced, smooth, and delicious. Additionally, the protein powder easily mixes in milk or water, so it's perfect for on-the-fly consumption when you don't have access to a blender.

Original Flavor Review (Sweetness Scale 0/10)

With less than 1 gram of sugar and no stevia, you'd think the original flavor of Amazing Grass Superfood Protein would be quite bland and earthy. Au contraire, the original flavor is one of the most smooth and delicious au naturale vegan protein powders I've tasted.

Right up there with Sunwarrior Classic Plus Natural (perhaps even better,) the original flavor is a nice, universally-applicable option that doesn't over-power or over-flavor your smoothie. It's a little earthy on its own with just milk, so I highly suggest mixing it with something. But what I enjoy about this flavor is that it tastes more real and authentic (doesn't try to cover up with earthiness with stevia.) You definitely taste the vegetables, but their subtle and smooth. I found it to be a great addition in my avocado, spinach, and peach smoothie.

Vanilla Flavor Review (Sweetness Scale 5/10)

Like the original flavor of Amazing Grass Superfood Protein, there's a light layer of earthy undertones to vanilla; however the inclusion of stevia helps sweeten and balance-out the taste. If you're stevia sensitive like me, rest assured knowing that Amazing Grass harnesses the stevia with finesse, as its not too sweet, nor is there any aftertaste. What I really like about the vanilla flavor of this vegan protein powder is that it tasted somewhat like gingerbread cookies. 

Chocolate Peanut Butter Flavor Review (Sweetness Scale 4/10)

In a strict effort to maintain an unbiased and neutral mindset while trying this enticing flavor, I was honestly very pleased with taste of this creative, peanut-buttery fusion. Upon tasting, I got a very distinct and delightful peanut butter flavor in the background, with a mocha-java chocolate kick that's a bit more forward. Overall, I found  the chocolate peanut butter flavor of Amazing Grass Protein Superfood to a decadent combination in which I would most certainly buy in the future. It's one of the most unique vegan protein powders with respect to both flavor and nutritional profile.  

Review more information about Amazing Grass Protein Superfood at AmazingGrass.com


Shop Amazing Grass Protein Superfood on Amazon.com


Friday, June 10, 2016

Sunwarrior Classic Plus Protein Review

Sunwarrior Classic Plus Protein Review

Sunwarrior Classic Plus Protein Review
As the older cousin of Sunwarrior Classic, Sunwarrior Classic Plus is slight step-up that offers more protein and a richer amino acid profile. Sunwarrior Classic Plus is an organic, raw, vegan protein powder that provides a grain-heavy blend for those looking for a solid brown rice and quinoa base.

In this Sunwarrior Classic Plus protein review, we dive into the nutritional profile of the product, along with subjective review of its flavor, texture, and overall enjoyability. I also encourage you to check out this review on Sunwarrior Warrior Blend protein if you're looking for an even greater nutritional profile. First off, the nutritional profile review of Sunwarrior Classic Plus.

Nutritional Facts of Sunwarrior Classic Plus Protein

Sunwarrior Classic Plus contains 20 grams of protein from the following organic sources: pea, brown rice, quinoa, chia seed, and amaranth. The amino acid profile in interestingly different than Warrior Blend, but still solid overall.



It probably goes without saying, but Sunwarrior Classic Plus is far from paleo. So if you're trying to eat a more grain-free, paleo/primal diet, again I suggest Warrior Blend or perhaps another brand like Garden of Life. Grain is currently a hot topic in the general fitness and athletic community, as it has similar, high glycemic response (like sugar) to the body. To what extent that response is in protein powders - I do not know. (Please comment if you do.)


Flavor Review of Sunwarrior Classic Plus Protein

Sunwarrior Classic Plus Protein Natural Review
In the flavor review of Sunwarrior Classic Plus Protein, I had the distinct honor and first-world privilege to taste all three flavors: Vanilla, Chocolate, and Natural. There were certainly some similarities in other Sunwarrior products - some more desirable than others. Let's get into it.


Sunwarrior Natural  (Sweetness Scale 0/10)

The Natural flavor of Sunwarrior Classic Plus is extremely smooth and transparent. It's practically 100% flavorless, so it makes for stealth inclusion in a smoothie or shake (retaining its "natural" flavor profile.) Sunwarrior Classic Plus is very refined and floury, so it blends well into just about anything. When it comes to the natural-flavored vegan protein powders, this one was one of the best I've reviewed.
Sunwarrior Classic Plus Protein Vanilla Review


Sunwarrior Vanilla (Sweetness Scale 5/10)

Sunwarrior Classic Plus Vanilla is also extraordinarily smooth but with a delicious layer of sweetness. Moderate and delightful, the sweet vanilla flavor is very well-balanced and light with no artificial aftertaste (given its stevia providing the sweetness.)

Like the Natural flavor, Vanilla is not overpowering to a smoothie and offers some degree of transparency. All in all, this is an A+ vanilla protein powder.


Sunwarrior Chocolate (Sweetness Scale 5/10)

Sunwarrior Classic Plus Protein Chocolate Review
To round out the series of Sunwarrior Classic Plus protein powder, the last to review was the Chocolate flavor. In short, this flavor made this line complete. The Chocolate flavor is more milk chocolate than dark chocolate, and its somewhat more creamy than other chocolate protein powders I've had.

However, the aftertaste was not as smooth as the other two flavors and was somewhat artificial-tasting. It is not my favor in the Classic Plus series of protein powders. But it is still a fine choice for a grain-forward vegan protein powder.

Friday, June 3, 2016

Sunwarrior Warrior Blend Protein Powder Review

Sunwarrior Warrior Blend Raw Vegan Protein Review

Sunwarrior Warrior Blend Protein Powder Review
Image credit: Amazon.com
Warrior Blend protein powder is one of Sunwarrior's flagship products. Common on the shelves of most Whole Foods and natural health food stores, Sunwarrior's Warrior Blend is an organic, non-GMO, 100% raw, vegan protein powder that contains both lysine and leucine, two of nine essential amino acids (lesser common to most plant-based protein powders.) It's also a paleo powder in that it's grain-free (no brown rice protein, like that of its cousin Sunwarrior Classic Plus.)

In this Warrior Blend protein powder review, I'll give you the scoop on this product's nutritional composition, along with my opinion of the taste on three of the five flavors. I also plan to review Sunwarrior Classic Plus shortly after this, so stay tuned (unless you're paleo.) First up, the nutritional profile review of Warrior Blend protein powder.

Nutritional Facts of Sunwarrior Warrior Blend Protein Powder

Warrior Blend is solid yet simple protein powder that contains three powerhouse sources of protein: pea, cranberry, and hemp seed - each of which is in raw form. It also has a bit of ancient sea salt, ground coconut, and MCTs (medium chain triglycerides), which offers nice supplementation for athletes, especially fat-adapted and ketogenic individuals.

Warrior Blend Vegan Protein Powder Review
These are the facts for the Vanilla flavor or Warrior Blend. Most flavors are consistent
with respect to nutritional composition. The Natural flavor does not have Stevia.
Image credit: Amazon.com

It's also worth mentioning that Warrior Blend protein powder has a complete amino acid profile that's higher-up compared to other vegan protein powders. This gives Warrior Blend bonus points for athletes and active individuals who seek optimal recovery.


Flavor Review of Warrior Blend Protein Powder

Sunwarrior Warrior Blend Natural Review
Image credit: Amazon.com
Now on to the part that some individuals value most: the flavor review of Warrior Blend protein powder. Evidently there are five total flavors of Sunwarrior Warrior Blend: Natural (unsweetened), Vanilla, Chocolate, Mocha, and Berry.

I was only able to taste the former three, which I review below. It's worth noting that each flavor was consistently smooth, as the powder itself was extremely refined and easy to mix and blend. The result: minimal chalkiness and greater transparency.


Warrior Blend Natural (Sweetness Scale 0/10)

If you're looking for a paleo/raw/vegan protein powder that tastes like absolutely nothing, than Warrior Blend Natural is superior choice for you. It's virtually flavorless, so it's up to you to bring in the flavor, whether you're adding it to a smoothie or mixing it with your milk and oats. Perhaps it was the sheer blandness of the protein powder, but Warrior Blend Natural was very mildly chalky tasting to me, unlike the other two below.
Image credit: Amazon.com


Warrior Blend Vanilla (Sweetness Scale 4/10)

With the addition to Stevia, the flavor of Warrior Blend Vanilla is taken-up a notch on the sweetness scale, but not too much. It's moderately sweet and has a good-tasting vanilla flavor up-front.

But after a second of being on my palate, the taste had strange finish that's hard to describe without sounding ridiculous. For some reason, the flavor finishes somewhat plasticy and artificial (keeping mind there are no artificial flavors in the product.) 


Warrior Blend Chocolate (Sweetness Scale 4/10)

Sunwarrior Warrior Blend Chocolate Review
Image credit: Amazon.com
Perhaps the best tasting flavor in the Warrior Blend protein powder review, Chocolate has a delightfully rich and brownie-like taste up-front that's juuuust right on the sweetness scale. There didn't seem to be as much of weird after-taste as the Vanilla flavor, but still just a hint. 

Nonetheless, the overall flavor of Warrior Blend Chocolate was very nice and definitely my favorite of the three (and I typically favor Vanilla.) While Mocha may be better tasting, I would recommend this flavor to anyone looking for Chocolate vegan protein powder that's grain-free and complete with amino acids. 

Thursday, May 26, 2016

Vega Sport Performance Protein Vanilla Review

Vega Sport Performance Protein Powder Review 
Vega Sport Performance Protein Vanilla Review
Image credit: MyVega.com

Vega Sport Performance is a plant-based protein powder that's specifically developed to optimize athletic recovery. As one of few vegan protein powders that contains a complete protein blend with 6 grams of BCAAs per serving, Vega Sport Performance accelerates muscle repair, reduces recovery time, and tastes, well....

Having tried this vegan protein powder years ago (and liking it), I was looking for to reviewing Vega Sport Performance protein once again. This being a new and improved performance blend from Vega, and it offers one of the most impressive nutritional and amino acid profiles.


Nutritional Facts of Vega Sport Performance Protein

Before the taste review of Vega Sport Performance Protein Vanilla, let's take a gander at the nutrition facts of this 100% vegan protein powder. Because it may be hard to read the ingredients, the list includes:

Vega Sport Performance Protein Review
Image credit: iHerb.com
Pea Protein, Organic Pumpkin Seed Protein, Organic Sunflower Seed Protein, Alfalfa Protein, Tart Cherry, Probiotics (Bacillus Coagulans (Provides 1 Billion CFU/Serving)), Bromelain, Turmeric Extract, Black Pepper Extract, Contains less than 2% of: Sea Salt, Natural Caramel Flavor, Natural Vanilla Flavor, Stevia Extract, Xanthan Gum

In addition to offering a quality, organic plant-based protein blend, a few recovery-centric standouts include Turmeric, Bromelain, Tart Cherry and Probiotics - many of which can reduce inflammation.

A full scoop serving of Vega Sport Performance Protein also has 30 grams of protein, 6 grams of glutamine, 6 grams of BCAAs, and a robust amino acid profile.

A couple quick notes to underscore the performance benefits of BCAAs and L-Glutamine:


  • BCAAs (Branched Chain Amino Acids) refers to three amino acids: Leucine, Isoleucine, and Valine. BCAA supplementation can help to promote muscle protein synthesis, and over time, increase muscle growth.
  • Research has shown that L-Glutamine supplementation can improve protein metabolism and minimize breakdown of muscle.
Vega Sport Performance Protein has one of the best (if not the best) nutritional profiles among vegan protein powders. Whether you're an endurance athlete, bodybuilder, or just looking to put on a little muscle, I would highly recommend Vega Sport Performance Protein for recovery. It's one of the few plant-based protein powders with BCAAs, which is not only important for accelerated muscle recovery, but also to put on muscle mass. Now let's review the taste of Vega Sport Performance Protein Vanilla.


Flavor Review of Vega Sport Performance Protein Vanilla

Vanilla (Sweetness Scale 6/10)


There are four flavors of Vega Sport Performance Protein: Berry, Mocha, Chocolate, and Vanilla. Unlike my typical flavor review format where I try all flavors under one blog blog post, this vegan protein powder review is dedicated to Vanilla. (I had to order this one online, so I may or may not get to reviewing the other flavors anytime soon.)

Stirring the protein powder mix into almond milk was a breeze. The powder is a very refined floury texture, so it blends well into just about any liquid. The fine blendability contributes to Vega Sport Performance Protein being extremely smooth with no signs of chalkiness or grittiness. 

As for the actual flavor review of Vega Sport Performance Protein Vanilla, I found the taste to pleasantly vanilla bean-esque but still somewhat artificial tasting given the Stevia. The level sweetness was well balanced and not as intense as other plant-based protein powders from Vega, but there's something about the quality of Stevia that Vega uses that has a lingering potency. (There are only a couple plant-based protein powders that effectively camouflage Stevia.)

Keep in mind this is coming from someone who is very sensitive to sweetness (particularly Stevia.) So for some individuals, Vega Sport Performance Protein Vanilla might be the bee's knees. Nonetheless, I still find the taste to pleasing and satisfying (but I've had better... ;)

Given the premium, athletic-focused composition of this vegan protein powder, Vega strikes a solid balance with flavor and nutrition, and at a reasonable price. I recommend it.



Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Orgain Organic Protein Powder Review

Orgain Organic Protein Powder Review
Image credit: Orgain.com

Orgain Organic Protein Plant-based Powder Review 


Touted as the "milkshake" among plant-based protein powders (by a friend and brand-loyal), Orgain Organic Protein is a great tasting product that contains clean and quality sources protein like hemp, pea, and chia.

An unlike some products I have reviewed, Orgain Organic Protein is an affordable option, especially given its quality and quantity. It's also unique in that it uses of both monkfruit extract and stevia as sweeteners.

All in all, my Orgain Organic Protein powder review was a positive one. Get the details below.


Orgain Organic Protein Powder
The plant-based protein powder for many needs and lifestyles...
Image credit: Orgain.com


Orgain Organic Protein Powder Review Nutrition
Image credit: Amazon.com

Nutritional Facts of Orgain Organic Protein Powder


Branded as the organic plant-based protein powder for many different lifestyles, Orgain Organic Protein does taste delicious. While it's pretty clean protein blend, it does have trademarked "Organic Creamer Base" that might raise the eyebrows of some vegans.

The creamer base is plant-based of course, but it does contain high oleic sunflower oil (which has the highest monounsaturated oleic acid content and is not very shelf stable in powder form). Although the fat content per serving is only 3.5 grams, the "Organic Creamer Base" is probably what makes it Orgain protein powder taste so good.

Unlike some vegan protein powders I've reviewed, Orgain Organic Protein does not make its amino acid profile known on the labeling.

Orgain Organic Protein Powder Review Ingredients
Image credit: Amazon.com

Aside from the latter details, Organic Protein Powder is still a decent product that offers a solid composition of proteins. It offers a premium organic blend of hemp, chia, pea, and brown rice; it tastes great; and doesn't break the bank. That's a compelling selling point if you're not too meticulous.

Flavor Review of Orgain Organic Protein Powder

There are two flavors of Orgain Organic Protein powder: Vanilla Bean and Creamy Chocolate Fudge. 
Orgain Organic Protein Powder Vanilla Bean


Vanilla Bean (Sweetness Scale 6/10)

Like I hinted at above - the touting holds true. It's hard not to believe that there isn't dairy in this protein powder because it does taste like a vanilla milkshake. I almost gave it a 7 on the sweetness scale, so consider this a high 6. 

Texturally, Orgain Organic Protein has minimally traces of chalkiness, but still ranks in the top 50% for smooth and easy-to-blend vegan protein powders. It's surely the closest thing to tasting like real cream, and might make for a good transition for whey protein user.


Creamy Chocolate Fudge (Sweetness Scale NA/10)

I haven't gotten to this flavor yet... but it's probably damn delicious.



Have you tried Orgain Organic Protein? What did you think?

Learn more about this plant-based protein powder and other supplements from Orgain at Orgain.com.

Shop Orgain Orgain Protein at Amazon.com.